#Connected #Educator

what-is-a-twitter-chatAs an educator and thinking about the technology tools that I will one day use in the classroom, Twitter was the last tech tool on my mind that I thought I would utilize. Twitter is an online news and social networking service. Users can post messages, communicate with other users and even post images. These posts are called tweets and they are restricted to 140 characters each. For my EDU 422 class we were assigned with the task of participating in a Twitter Chat. I personally have never participated in a Twitter chat and was curious to see how the experience would play out.

After having experienced the Twitter Chat environment, I can personally say that I didn’t think it was anything special. I found it very like other social media tools like Facebook. Regardless, I learned a lot about the Twitter Chat environment and especially the use of hashtags to connect all relevant information pertaining to certain topics. That was pretty much the most interesting aspect to me. What I found most challenging while in the Twitter Chat was the speed of the chat itself. I found it to be very fast paced and because it was such, I couldn’t enjoy most of my classmate’s responses to the questions that were asked by our professor. I was very afraid of missing the next question that my professor would ask, that I only engaged in minimal side conversations with my peers. I wish I would have tried to venture out more with the side conversations, but it was a difficulty for me. I did enjoy the fact that there was a 140-character limit to tweets. Sometimes it is nice to just get to the point and not have a lot of fluff in a posting.

Although I found Twitter a bit difficult to keep up with, it still has its benefits to me as an educator and lifelong learner. Twitter has the potential to keep me in contact with several educational resources. Resources being other educators, administrators, my peers, and so on. As a lifelong leaner, Twitter can help me connect with these resources to become a better educator myself. They can offer me advice, suggestions, and tools to become the best educator that I can be. Twitter can also help me keep in contact with future students who would like to stay connected for educational purposes.

The last part of this assignment was to connect with my fellow classmates by following them on their social media networks: Twitter, LinkedIn and their own blogs as well. As part of this assignment I read all their posts in ISTE standards and left the following links on their blogs in response to the questions that they posted. See the links below and feel free to read up on what some of my classmates posted about the ISTE standards. I am very lucky as a future educator to have my classmates in the same boat as I am. It has been very beneficial connecting with them using tech tools like Twitter, because I learn more about them and I can establish my own Personal Learning Network with them in it.

These activities relate to the ISTE standard of Professional Growth and leadership. By doing these activities we are setting up a foundation for lifelong learning. By participating in Twitter Chats, we model the standard by participating in our local and global communities. Talking with one another about how we can use technology to further education and lifelong learning. We are building a foundation to grow professionally by having a Twitter account where we can connect with other educators and do what we do best, which is learn.

Arthur Cook Blog: https://thecooklife.wordpress.com/

Relevant Website Link: https://www.iste.org/explore/articleDetail?articleid=330

Brandon Warner Blog: https://logblog2017.wordpress.com/

Relevant Website Link: https://ww2.kqed.org/mindshift/2016/11/14/how-to-develop-mindsets-for-compassion-and-caring-in-students/

Cherifer Cruz Blog: https://cherifercruz.com/

Relevant Website Link: https://www.edutopia.org/technology-integration-history

Caitlin Timney Blog: https://timneycaitlin.wordpress.com/

Relevant Website Link: http://www.washington.edu/teaching/teaching-resources/engaging-students-in-learning/teaching-with-technology-2/

 

 

Leave a Reply

